Short Stories - Volume 2

On 5th August 2022, Ricky will be releasing a new solo album, entitled Short Stories Volume 2 on Cooking Vinyl. The album was initially recorded at Ricky's home, and then strings and brass were added, along with contributions from Lorraine McIntosh and Gregor Philp.

Ricky has also written a memoir, called 'Walking Back Home' due for publication on 4th August by Headline Books. This can be preordered from Amazon or signed copies can be ordered from TMStores.

In his memoir, Ross revisits his formative years growing up in Dundee, his early forays into music and the beginning, extraordinary success, fall-out, and re-emergence of Deacon Blue. Ross writes movingly and with great wit about the people and places that have meant the most to him, as well as his relationship with faith, politics, and the ever-changing challenges of being a musician.

Ricky will be doing a book tour.

Pre-orders can be made at TM Stores. There is a limited edition coloured vinyl from the TM Stores site,.

The tracklisting is

  1. The New World
  2. Still Walking
  3. All Dressed Up
  4. The Unpath
  5. Your Swaying Arms
  6. The Foundations
  7. The Unknown Warrior
  8. I Am Born
  9. I Was The Beatles
  10. Spanish Shoes
  11. Bethlehem's Gate

The album and book will be supported by a tour in September & October 2022 with Ricky at the piano, playing beautiful venues around the country, presenting songs from across his entire career and sharing stories from Walking Back Home. Tour dates will be added to the website as they get released.